The 6 Best Technician License Tracking Tools in 2027, Ranked for HVAC, Plumbing and Electrical Shops

Deep Singh
Author: Deep Singh
November 8, 2026
9 min read

For most HVAC, plumbing and electrical shops, ExpiryEdge is the best technician license tracker. It holds each tech's state licence, CE hours, Gas Safe card or ACS certificates next to the company's own registrations, and it texts the tech before anything lapses with a link to upload the new card. Certemy is the pick if you want each licence checked against the issuing board, which ExpiryEdge doesn't do.

The rest suit narrower cases. Connecteam works if your crew already clocks in on it. Expiration Reminder fits shops running HR in BambooHR, Mitti suits teams that want training and credentials in one app, and Commusoft suits UK gas firms that want qualifications inside the scheduler.

We make ExpiryEdge, and we've ranked it first, so check our reasoning. Every fact about the other five comes from that vendor's site or help centre as of 7 November 2026, with the link beside it.

Quick verdict
Use ExpiryEdge if you want every tech's licence and the company's own registrations in one place, with reminders texted straight to the tech. Pick Certemy if a customer or insurer wants each licence checked at the board. Connecteam suits crews who already clock in on it.
Technician license trackers compared
ToolReminds the tech directlyTech uploads from phoneChecks the licence at the sourcePublished pricing
ExpiryEdge
Our product
Yes, email, SMS, WhatsAppYes, no-login linkNo$29 to $199 a month
CertemyYes, renewal remindersNot statedYes, primary source verificationFrom $3 per user a month
ConnecteamYes, app alerts at 30, 7 and 1 daysYes, in the appNo$0 up to 10 users; Expert tier for expiry alerts
Expiration ReminderYes, email or SMSSelf-service portalNo$49 to $399 a month
MittiNot statedNot statedNo$0 up to 10 users; $24 a seat a month
CommusoftNot statedNot statedNoNot published

How we compared these tools

A licence tracker for a trade shop lives or dies on whether the tech actually renews. So two of our columns are about the tech: does the reminder reach him directly, and can he upload the new card from his phone? Source checks matter if a big customer or insurer asks for them. Published pricing matters to a 12-tech shop. On 7 November 2026 we read each vendor's product pages, pricing and help articles, and checked renewal rules with the EPA, Texas TDLR, GOV.UK and IGEM. We didn't pay for trials of every tool. We make ExpiryEdge, so read our top ranking knowing that.

Half the dates belong to your techs, half to the company

A trade licence lapses on the tech's schedule, but the risk lands on your business. So the tracker has to know every date, reach the tech before the deadline, and give the office proof the new card arrived.

The dates differ by trade and by country. In the US, the EPA says Section 608 refrigerant certification doesn't expire. The problem there is proof: you still need a copy of the card for every tech who handles refrigerant. State licences are different. In Texas, for example, TDLR requires 4 hours of continuing education before each electrician licence renewal, so you're tracking hours as well as a date.

In the UK, GOV.UK says you must be on the Gas Safe Register to work on gas fittings, the registration renews every year, and qualifications more than five years old must be renewed before you register. IGEM confirms ACS gas assessments renew every five years. And if you work on air conditioning or heat pumps, the company's F-gas certificate renews every three years.

1 year
Gas Safe registration renewal (UK)
3 years
F-gas company certificate renewal (UK)
5 years
ACS gas assessment cycle (UK)

That's the trap. Half the dates belong to people and half belong to the company, and most HR tools only see the people.

The recurring licence dates in a trade business
  • State journeyman, master or contractor licence: on the state's renewal cycle, often with CE hours
  • EPA 608 card: no expiry, but keep a copy for every tech
  • Gas Safe registration (UK): every year
  • ACS gas assessments (UK): every five years
  • F-gas company certificate (UK): every three years
  • Driving licence, vehicle insurance and van MOT for every tech who drives a company van

1. ExpiryEdge: best for most trade shops

ExpiryEdge treats each licence as a dated record with an owner. A tech's record can hold the state licence number, the CE hours logged so far, the EPA card upload and the expiry date. A custom template keeps every record the same, and you can bulk-import a CSV to start. Upload a scan and ExpiryEdge reads the expiry date for you.

You set the reminder schedule, say 90, 60, 30 and 7 days out. Reminders go to the tech by SMS, WhatsApp or email, not just to your inbox, with a request link the tech opens without a login to photograph the renewed card. If nothing comes back, the item escalates to the service manager. The office gets a Slack or Teams alert and a daily digest.

ExpiryEdge record form with outside contacts selected to receive renewal reminders
ExpiryEdge's contact reminders on a licence record

The same account holds the dates HR tools ignore: the company's Gas Safe or contractor licence, the F-gas certificate, liability insurance, van MOTs and your subs' certificates. Here's a typical week. A Texas electrician's licence is due in 60 days and he has logged 2 of his 4 CE hours. He gets a WhatsApp message with the date and a link. He uploads his course certificate from his phone, your office manager approves it, and the record moves on to next year. If he ignores it, his manager hears about it at 30 days, not on the morning of a job.

Timeline of a technician licence renewal: text at 90 days, WhatsApp upload link at 60 days, escalation to the service manager at 30 days, last nudge at 7 days, then office approval
How a 90, 60, 30 and 7-day schedule chases one tech's renewal

Our trades and home services page shows how that's set up.

Try it with your own techs' licences in 15 minutes

  1. Import your tech roster as a CSV, with custom fields for licence number, trade and CE hours logged.
  2. Set a 90, 60, 30 and 7-day schedule that texts each tech and escalates to the service manager at 30 days.
  3. Send the tech whose licence renews next a no-login request link and have him photograph his current card.

Pricing: a one-user plan is $29 a month, and the 50-user plan is $199, with $49 and $99 tiers between, each capped by how many dated items you track. The free trial is 14 days and skips the credit card.

Watch out for: ExpiryEdge doesn't look up licences on state board or Gas Safe registers. It tracks the date you enter and chases the renewal. If you need source checks, see Certemy.

If you want to size a plan first, the pricing page shows the record limits.

2. Certemy: best if you want licences checked at the source

Certemy is a licence management platform with a field service page aimed at trades. It says it runs primary source verification of employee credentials, sends renewal reminders to employees as their licences near expiry, and alerts HR and compliance staff about upcoming renewals.

Certemy article headline on employee license tracking in the field service industry
Certemy's field service page as of 7 November 2026

Pricing: published. Certemy's pricing page lists Standard Track at $3 per user a month, Enterprise Track and Manage at $6, and primary source verification at $1 per check, with lower figures under its yearly toggle.

Watch out for: every plan still routes you to "Contact Us". The pages we read don't cover company-level registrations or say whether techs upload from a phone.

3. Connecteam: best if your crew already uses it

Connecteam is an all-in-one app for deskless teams. Its help article on expiration dates explains that each tech can enter their own licence expiry when they upload it. The app then reminds them on their phone 30, 7 and 1 day before, and again on the day. Tapping the alert takes them straight to re-upload.

Pricing: published on the pricing page. Document expiry alerts sit in the HR and Skills Expert tier at $99 a month for the first 30 users, billed yearly. Connecteam also offers a Small Business plan at $0 for up to 10 users with all hubs included.

Watch out for: the reminder days are fixed and go to the app, not by SMS. It tracks people, so the company's own licences and insurance need somewhere else.

4. Expiration Reminder: best if HR lives in BambooHR

Expiration Reminder tracks certifications, licences and training records, and its BambooHR listing says it sends email or SMS alerts to HR staff and employees. Employee names, emails, mobile numbers and job titles sync from BambooHR every 24 hours.

Expiration Reminder pricing page showing Starter, Professional, Business and Enterprise plans
Expiration Reminder's pricing page as of 7 November 2026

Pricing: the pricing page lists Starter at $49 a month for 150 items, Professional at $99 for 600, Business at $179 for 1,500 and Enterprise at $399 for 2,500. SMS reminders and admin users are unlimited, and the trial runs 14 days with no card.

Watch out for: email escalation starts on Professional, and e-signatures are a paid add-on from $29 a month.

5. Mitti: best for pairing training with credentials

Mitti is the frontline app from SafetyCulture, and SafetyCulture's old credentials page now redirects to it. Its training page says certificates, credentials and licences are stored and searchable, with expiry tracking built in, next to AI-built courses for your crew.

Mitti training page headline reading Training built for the frontline
Mitti's training page as of 7 November 2026

Pricing: the pricing page lists $0 for up to 10 users and Premium at $24 a seat a month billed yearly, or $29 monthly.

Watch out for: the pages we read don't say who gets an alert when a licence is close to expiry, or whether techs can upload their own cards.

6. Commusoft: best for UK gas firms dispatching by qualification

Commusoft is job management software for UK heating businesses. Its gas engineer page says you can record each engineer's skills and qualifications and dispatch the right engineer, for example someone Gas Safe registered. Engineers also complete CP12 landlord certificates on the mobile app.

Pricing: not published. The plans page names three plans on a 12-month contract and says Commusoft is built for businesses with six or more staff.

Watch out for: the pages we read describe qualifications for scheduling, not expiry alerts. Check that in a demo.

Note
Already on ServiceTitan, Housecall Pro or Jobber? Their features and pricing pages (Housecall Pro, Jobber) don't list technician licence expiry tracking. They run jobs, dispatch and invoicing, so most shops pair them with one of the tools above.

ExpiryEdge as an alternative to Certemy

Switch to ExpiryEdge if your problem is chasing techs, not verifying them. A shop of 12 techs with four licence dates each, plus ten company dates, is tracking 58 items. That fits the $49 Pro plan, and the reminders can reach a tech on WhatsApp in the van.

ExpiryEdge also covers what sits around the licences. The company Gas Safe registration, the F-gas certificate, insurance and van paperwork all live in the same dashboard, with one audit log to export when a customer or inspector asks.

Stay with Certemy if a large customer or your insurer wants proof that each licence was checked against the issuing board. ExpiryEdge can't do that. Some firms use both: Certemy to verify, ExpiryEdge to chase everything else.

Test it on the tech whose licence renews next

List every dated item in the business, not just the techs' cards. Count them. If the company's own licences, insurance and vehicles are half the list, a people-only tool leaves that half in a spreadsheet.

Then test the hard part. Pick one tech whose licence renews soon and ask each vendor to show you what he receives, on what channel, and what happens if he ignores it. The tool that gets the new card back without a phone call from the office is the right one.

Pro tip
Keep a photo of the front and back of every tech's card, plus his licence number in its own field. When a general contractor asks for proof on a Monday morning before letting your crew on site, you can send it from your phone in a minute.

For the full picture, read our guide to software for trades compliance. If memberships are your bigger headache, see the maintenance agreement renewal comparison. Our staff certification tracking page covers the setup in more detail.

Frequently asked questions

For most HVAC, plumbing and electrical shops, ExpiryEdge is the best fit. It tracks every tech's licences and the company's registrations, and texts techs a no-login upload link before anything lapses. Certemy is better if you need licences verified against the issuing board, and Connecteam suits crews already using its app.

No. The EPA says Section 608 technician certification doesn't expire. You still need proof on file for every tech who handles refrigerant, so most shops store a copy of each card. ExpiryEdge, Connecteam and Expiration Reminder can all hold the upload with the tech's record.

Every year, according to GOV.UK. Engineers' ACS gas assessments renew every five years, and qualifications older than five years must be renewed before you register. A tracker should hold both dates per engineer and remind you well before each one.

Their feature and pricing pages don't list licence expiry tracking. They focus on jobs, dispatch and billing. Most shops on ServiceTitan, Housecall Pro or Jobber add a separate tracker such as ExpiryEdge, Certemy or Expiration Reminder for licences and certificates.

ExpiryEdge runs $29 to $199 a month. Certemy lists $3 per user a month plus $1 per source check. Expiration Reminder starts at $49 a month. Connecteam and Mitti both offer $0 tiers for up to 10 users, and Commusoft quotes on request.

Connecteam's Small Business plan and Mitti's base tier are both $0 for up to 10 users. ExpiryEdge has no unpaid tier, but its 14-day trial needs no credit card, so you can load your own licences and test the reminders first.

Start about 90 days out for anything that needs CE hours, an exam or an assessment booking, such as a state licence or an ACS reassessment. Follow up at 60 and 30 days, send a final notice at 7, and escalate to the service manager if nothing arrives.